Change of heart forces new Samoa by-elections


Nine members of parliament in Samoa have been disqualified for changing political parties after their terms gave begun.

The Talamua Live Online website reports Mobdro the nine were mostly opposition MPs or independents.

They all formed the Tautua Party in a move to oppose the ruling Human Rights Protection Party.

But under Samoan law, MPs who want to change parties must first re-contest Mobdro on PC their seats under their new party banner.

The decision was announced by Samoa’s Speaker of parliament at a budget session of parliament, but no date has been set for the by-elections.